James Corner Field Operations and Diller Scofidio + Renfro

highlighted mobile


Team Statement

What will grow here? The Field Operations-led team comprises a design collaborative with Diller, Scofidio and Renfro, Olafur Eliasson, Piet Oudolf and Buro Happold. This team is supported by L'Observatoire, Robert Sillman Associates, ETM Associates, Philip Habib Associates, Williams Group, GRB, Control Point, Code Consultants, VJ Associates, DVS Associates, Tanya Bonakdar Gallery, Creative Time and Pentagram. As a collective, this team brings together seasoned technical expertise with innovative design thinkers that move fluidly in and out of disciplinary boundaries.

Inspired by the melancholic, unruly beauty of the High Line, where nature has reclaimed a once-vital piece of urban infrastructure, the team retools this industrial conveyance into a post-industrial instrument of leisure, life, and growth. By changing the rules of engagement between plant life and pedestrians, our strategy of agri-tecture combines organic and building materials into a blend of changing proportions that accommodates the wild, the cultivated, the intimate, and the hyper-social. In stark contrast to the speed of Hudson River Park, this parallel linear experience is marked by slowness, distraction and an other-worldliness that preserves the strange character of the High Line. Providing flexibility and responsiveness to the changing needs, opportunities, and desires of the dynamic context, our proposal is designed to remain perpetually unfinished, sustaining emergent growth and change over time.

Team List

Design Group
Field Operations, Team Lead, Landscape / Urban Design / Project Management
Project Director: James Corner
Project Manager: Tom Jost
Design Manager: Taewook Cha
Senior Designer: Lisa Switkin
Designers: Michael Flynn, Justine Heilner

Diller Scofidio + Renfro, Architecture
Principal: Elizabeth Diller
Architect: Charles Renfro
Designers: Hayley Eber, Matthew Johnson

Piet Oudolf, Horticulture
Principal: Piet Oudolf

Olafur Eliasson, Artist

L'Observatoire, Lighting Design
Principal: Herve Descottes
Designer: Zac Moseley

Technical Group
Buro Happold, Structural Engineering / Sustainable Engineering
Principal: Craig Schwitter
Structural Eng: J. Cohen
Sustainability: Byron John Stigge

Robert Sillman, Structural Engineering / Historic Preservation
Principal: Robert Silman

Philip Habib, Traffic Engineering / Zoning and Land Use / Civil
Principal: Philip Habib

Williams Group, Commerical Viability / TDR Analysis
Principal: David Williams

GRB, Environmental Engineering and Testing
Principal: Richard Barbour

VJ Associates, Capital and Operating Cost Estimating
Principal: Vijay Desai

ETM, Public Space Management
Principal: Timothy Marshall

DVS Associates, Site Security
Principal: Robert Ducibella

Code Consultants, ADA / NYC Code / Regulations
Principal: John McCormick

Creative Time, Public Art Programming
Director: Anne Pasternak

Tanya Bonakdar Gallery, Art and Cultural Outreach

Pentagram, Graphic Design
Principal: Paula Scher

Control Point, Site Surveyor
Principal: Paul Jurkowski