As a precaution to help limit the spread of COVID-19, the High Line is not open. Learn more about our COVID-19 response.

Close Alert
Express to
your inbox

Sign up for the High Line newsletter for the latest updates

Please enter a valid email address!
Thanks for signing up, we'll be in touch soon!
Close Alert
The Spur

The High Line was built by the New York Central Railroad between 1929 and 1934 to lift dangerous freight trains from Manhattan’s streets. Originally extending to the St. John’s Park Terminal at Clarkson Street, the High Line’s trains carried meat and produce into nearby warehouses and factories. They also carried much of the region’s mail. The Spur, a block-long offshoot at 10th Avenue and 30th Street, supported direct rail service to the United States Postal Service Morgan Processing and Distribution Center.

As trucking began to replace rail as the primary means of moving freight in New York City, the High Line fell into disuse, with the last train running in 1980.

In 1999, with the High Line threatened with demolition, neighborhood residents Joshua David and Robert Hammond formed Friends of the High Line to advocate for the preservation and reuse of the structure. In 2005, the High Line south of 30th Street was secured by the City of New York, but the fate of the High Line at the Rail Yards remained uncertain. A campaign to “Save the Spur” began in 2008. In 2012, after years of community effort, CSX Transportation donated the remaining portion of the High Line for public use.

The preservation of the entire original structure is a tribute to the vision of many people. The High Line thanks its staff and volunteers for their continued work, and is grateful to a dedicated group of private and civic partners and the leadership of the City of New York for their ongoing commitment. This public-private partnership helped make the High Line at the Rail Yards and the Spur a reality.




Bill de Blasio, Mayor
Alicia Glen, Deputy Mayor for Housing and Economic Development
Corey Johnson, Speaker, New York City Council
Gale A. Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
Mitchell J. Silver, FAICP, Hon. ASLA, Commissioner, NYC Parks

Michael R. Bloomberg, Mayor, 2001 – 2013
Melissa Mark-Viverito, Speaker, New York City Council, 2014 – 2017
Christine C. Quinn, Speaker, New York City Council, 2006 – 2013
Gifford Miller, Speaker, New York City Council, 2002 – 2005


Andrew M. Cuomo, Governor
Brad M. Hoylman, New York State Senator
Richard N. Gottfried, New York State Assembly Member
Deborah J. Glick, New York State Assembly Member


Charles E. Schumer, United States Senator
Kirsten E. Gillibrand, United States Senator
Jerrold L. Nadler, United States Representative


Joshua David, Co-Founder
Robert Hammond, Co-Founder

Mario J. Palumbo, Jr., Chair
Susan Viniar, Vice Chair
Catie Marron, Chair, 2013 – 2018
John H. Alschuler, Chair, 2009 – 2013
Philip E. Aarons, Founding Chair, 1999 – 2009

Philip E. Aarons
Jennifer Allan Soros
John H. Alschuler
John Blondel
Amanda M. Burden
Ursula M. Burns
Sharon Davis
Kristen M. Dickey
Lisa Maria Falcone
Ellen M. Fitzsimmons
Alexandre von Furstenberg
Robert Hammond, Executive Director
Gary Handel
Jeffrey Harris
Hermine Riegerl Heller
Karen Herskovitz
J. Tomilson Hill
Sandra Jackson-Dumont
Wendy Keys
Jane Lauder
Heather McDowell Levin
Catie Marron
Gifford Miller
Sarah Min
Ackneil M. Muldrow, III
Donald R. Mullen, Jr.
Michael Phillips
Steven Rubenstein
Delores Rubin
Mitchell J. Silver
Jason Stewart, Treasurer
Jon Stryker
Darren Walker
Joanne Wilson
Peter S. Wilson, Secretary
Bronson van Wyck

Alicia Glen, Deputy Mayor for Housing and Economic Development
Corey Johnson, Speaker, New York City Council
Mitchell J. Silver, FAICP, Hon. ASLA, Commissioner, NYC Parks

James F. Capalino
Vishaan Chakrabarti
Christopher Collins
Joshua David
Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel
Olivia W. Douglas
Philip Falcone
Elizabeth Gilmore
Robert Greenhood
Edward Norton
Michael O’Brien
Richard Socarides
Alan Stillman

James Corner Field Operations
Diller Scofidio + Renfro
Piet Oudolf

Buro Happold
L’Observatoire International
Robert Silman Associates